Dinner · Healthy Eating · Recipe · Salmon · Vegetables

Maple Salmon and Butternut Squash Noodles

When I first learned about zoodles (zucchini noodles aka vegetable noodles aka fake pasta), I was VERY hesitant. I could get behind them as a side dish or vegetable replacement but absolutely not as a healthy replacement for penne, fettuccine, or any sort of yummy essential carbohydrate. I was horrified when my roommates wanted to get a spiralizer for our townhouse. I often write things off without trying them first and zoodles were one of those things.

fullsizerender

A typical weeknight meal for me is usually pretty healthy and somewhat flavorful, but I am trying to be more creative in the ingredients I use and how I present the food on my plate. There was a long period of time where I didn’t like any of my food touching on the plate, which made photographing my food in a unique and appealing way even more challenging.

When I was going grocery shopping at Whole Foods last week, I came across pre-cut (pre-spiraled?) butternut squash noodles. I typically avoid buying whole, uncut butternut squash after a traumatic incident involving a butternut squash, a sharp knife, and my left pointer finger during my sophomore year of high school (I didn’t cut it off, in case you were worried). However, I love it as a vegetable in different dishes so I was pretty excited to find a version that was already prepped and just needed seasoning. I got over my fear of zoodles and decided to give these a whirl.

I paired them with one of my favorite types of salmon- maple glazed- and they actually were super yummy. I wasn’t entirely sure how to cook them, so I just sautéed them with some maple syrup, olive oil, salt, pepper, and thyme for about five minutes until they were soft. They got a little too soft and lost a little bit of their shape but they were a tasty and super easy replacement for a vegetable.

fullsizerender-1

I don’t see how these could serve as an entire replacement for pasta (#notfilling) but I could even see them being nice to mix with a half portion of spaghetti. Below is the recipe I used for maple glazed salmon and butternut squash noodles.

Maple Salmon (serves one)

1 Filet of Salmon

1 teaspoon of olive oil

2 tablespoons of maple syrup

sprinkle of salt and black pepper

*I didn’t have any paprika on hand, but I think ½ teaspoon of paprika would bring out the smokiness of the maple syrup and give it a little heat to balance the sweetness of the maple syrup

Bake in a 350 degree oven for 10-11 minutes.

Butternut Squash Noodles

1 cup of butternut squash noodles

2 tablespoons of olive oil

2 tablespoons of maple syrup

½ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon pepper

Saute butternut squash noodles, olive oil, salt, pepper, and maple syrup over medium-high heat for 5-7 minutes, tossing often.

img_2154

Leave a Reply

